Connect with us

Help with pots

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by benbrown, Jan 5, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. benbrown

benbrown

Jan 5, 2014
    I am building a billiard ball cleaner/polisher and the motor I am using is an inexpensive Harbor Freight 7" sander/polisher. The tool in question runs off of 110V ac and has a variable speed thumbwheel protruding from the handle. In order to downsize the finished project I removed the handle from the sander/polisher and was going to incorporate the speed adjusting thumbwheel into the design. The variable speed circuit is mounted on a small circuit board with the thumbwheel mounted to it. I am a cabinetmaker by trade and have some electronic experience but it is very limited. So to make things easy I designed this thing to fit in a nicely finished oak box with a timer and the thumbwheel protruding through the face of the oak. After many hours of drawing on the computer I had cut all my pieces using the CNC machine at work. However when trying to assemble this project I found out that the small circuit board with the thumbwheel sticks out too far inside and interferes with the exact location of the motor. The motor has to be in the correct location so I can not change it. I could not mount the thumbwheel to the oak box and just let it be on the inside and not have any speed adjustment but that would leave me with a small rectangular hole in the face of the box. So I was thinking if the circuit board mounted thumbwheel, which is a potentiometer or a rheostat, could be changed and remotely mounted it may work. My question is what kind of potentiometer or rheostat do I need to use and what value. I tried to measure the value of the thumbwheel in circuit but I don't know if it is correct. Using a nice Meterman electronic meter I got around 370 ohms. The thumbwheel goes from "minimum" to maximum" and when at the maximum position a switch inside the thumbwheel itself is engaged which I gue