Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with crystal radio circuit...

jaki54321

Jul 19, 2010
Ok first of all I am sort of a complete noob... I made a 'crystal' radio circuit from parts i got out of an old busted radio, a LM386N audio amplifier IC from radioshack, and a small breadboard. It is pretty loud on the speaker i have on it which is a 1 or 2W speaker, i dont know the exact spec. It works pretty damn well and is quite loud for a bedroom. But anyway, here is the pic and right after it ill explain the issues:

Dwm2010-07-1902-50-11-98.jpg

Ok.... the 1st issue is, well it is quite loud, but not as loud as the speaker can really go. BUT when i place my finger on the output capacitor(470uf), on the metal on top of it, it actually amplifies the signal a lil, then if i push it down jus a lil, it really drives the signal through the speaker and makes it much louder. is there any way I can make it to where it is as loud as when i push on it without actually having to push on it(Maybe change the cap to a different value)?

Also, the Variable capacitor does not work, it will not tune the radio to different frequencies, and I dont know if this has something to do with the layout or the cap itself, because my variable cap is a bit different looking and I do not know how to hook it up and/or if i did it right:

Photo011.jpg

Photo013.jpg

Photo014.jpg

Photo015.jpg

Can somebody please help me fix this issue? also any suggestions to this probably crappy yet well working circuit will be very appreciated! this circuit runs off a 9v battery powering/grounding the Amplifier chip which is an LM396, and also grounding off the speaker and diode. I know the diode is not germanium but that is all I can get right now because I have to wait till i order any germanium diodes.

Thank you!

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010