Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with circuit design of solar powered dog collar

Leadb98

Dec 2, 2020
I'm currently in my second year of studying PDI and have been asked to design a product running off of renewable energies. My group and I have decided upon a solar-powered light up dog collar. We are going to use a 9v 3w solar panel that's small enough to go on the back of the dog's neck (on the collar), we want to run just 4 LEDs (30mA per 1) for at least 2 hours of the day, a maximum of 4 as we don't expect many dog walkers to walk their dog in the dark that long and we want to use NiMh rechargeable batteries (for their eco-friendliness) but aren't sure what voltage or mAh to go for and whether or not to hook them up in series-parallel, series, or parallel. So I was wondering if any of you have any suggestions? And another thing, does the way you connect batteries affect the time it takes them to charge? Thanks.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Since this is an assignment, I'll move this thread to the fitting homework forum. Please be aware that we will not do your homework or assignment. Rather we will guide you through the process so you can arrive at your own solution.
Believe me, this is a well practiced procedure and you will gain much more understanding this way.

Meanwhile here are a few tips to get you started:
Operating conditions will be mainly dictated by the LEDs you use. So your first decision has to be on the type of LEDs. Different LEDs have different requirements in terms of voltage and current.
Once you have settled on a specific LED type, you can determine the topology, i.e. series or parallel connection or a mixture of both serial and parallel connection of the LEDs to optimize pow utilization.
Check the parameters of the "9 V " panel. What is the real output voltage under load and under normal daylight lighting conditions (cloudy day). Depending on the outcome a suitable battery can be chosen.