Connect with us

Help With Calculations

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by nabila hussain, May 4, 2017.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. nabila hussain

nabila hussain

May 4, 2017
    Hi All,

I am a teacher and covering a unit on electronics and finding some of the calculations a little difficult, electronics is not my strong point!

I would really appreciate it if some one is able to use formulas to find the answers with the working outs. I am not sure what I am doing wrong but I am getting different answers to the measured values.

Any help with be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Nabila

upload_2017-5-4_12-30-47.png

upload_2017-5-4_12-31-17.png

2. Muki

Muki

Oct 6, 2016
    There must be an answer sheet with your teachers pack.

3. Arouse1973

Arouse1973 Adam

Dec 18, 2013
    Yes I agree Muki. Nice to see you on here at long last :)
    Adam

4. nabila hussain

nabila hussain

May 4, 2017
    Hi,

No information given, its a unit that I have picked up from a previous teacher who has now left and no example work, so a bit lost with it.

5. Arouse1973

Arouse1973 Adam

Dec 18, 2013
    What school are you working at?
    Thanks
    Adam

6. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    Your calculation looks right up until you compute the current through the combined resistance. You used 9V as the voltage across the equivalent resistor. But it is not 9V, some of the voltage is across the LED. Use the forward voltage of the LED, subtract that from your 9V then do the calculation again. It will come out closer to correct.

It may still not be correct, because the forward voltage across the LED varies with current and varies from one unit to another. The forward voltage given as a specification for the LED is a typical value at a specific current. If you do not know the forward voltage of the LED use 2V for red, yellow, or green, 3.3V for white or blue.

Bob

7. duke37

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
    Resistors in parallel.