Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with battery power supply

BenThePCGuy

Jan 25, 2016
Hello everyone,
I'm new to the board but I'm also an almost electronics novice so please have patience with me.

I've built a simple bluetooth speaker inside an old cabinet using a ready-made bluetooth amplifier board. It uses a 12V power supply and is constantly plugged into the mains. The board just has audio L/R out and power in. All I had to do was solder a couple of speakers to it and plug in some power so you can't get much more novice than that!

I'd like to build the same sort of thing into an old portable radio cabinet that I have but would like it to be powered by rechargeable batteries - they could be AAs in a battery pack or even a lithium-ion battery. I also want to have the option of having it plugged constantly into the mains and of course it must recharge while plugged in and cut the charging when batteries are fully charged (over charge protection? I think it's called). There are many such ready-built devices around - most off-the-shelf bluetooth speakers will do this but I'm very new to this and don't know what to look for in order to make such a psu myself so any help would be appreciated please.

Can one buy ready-built power supplies like this and if so what keywords might I use to look for one?
I found an interesting video about charging batteries with a TP4056 board and have an idea I might be on the right track. Could this board be used to build what I'm after? I don't even know the name for it without saying..,
Battery-power-supply-that-can-be-charged-on-the-fly-with-a-mains-supply-pass-through which is a bit of a mouth full.
Ignorant. I don't even know the meaning of the word.:)

Further info.
The board is a bluetooth amplifier circuit using the TDA7492P chip like this one...
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/TDA7492P-...405975?hash=item4d36f37257:g:iHYAAOSwT6pV2OIM

Me - by way of introduction...