Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with Automotive Project Please.

soundcatcher

Jun 16, 2011
I'm working on a project that is pushing my knowledge to it's limits. I'm totally self taught and I pick up knowledge as I encounter stuff that I don't' understand or tackle new challenges. On this occasion I've come a bit un-stuck. :(

I'ts good old auto-electrics this time that has me tearing what little hair I have left out! I have a custom car that has solenoid doors. I decided that I wanted something a little bit different so I have decided to use a Capacitance Switch to trigger the doors to open, rather than use a pushbutton or remote control. This switch works fine by iteself but when you trigger an unrelated device like the electric windows, a spike gets sent back up the powerline and triggers the door switch and they then get stuck in a loop and go crazy! Not great if you're driving down the road and need to adjust your window and the doors open! :eek:

So after a bit of searching I think I have 1 solution... Unless you guys can think of a better one. I'm thinking about using a transient voltage suppressor across the sensor circuit to hopefully stop the unwanted triggering from happening.

So far so good but at this point I don't know which one to choose and I don't know how to work out or where to measure to find the parameters that will narrow down the choices?

Does anyone have any experience with TVS and can you please guide me gently in the right direction as to what to do. I've read dozens of articles, but as yet they all say the same thing, but don't give me the laymens version so that I can grab a meter and start to work it out? I have a feeling that once It's been explained I will kick myself. But at the moment I feel as though I am banging my head against the wall on this one.

Many thanks in advance...

Andy ;)

poor mystic

Apr 8, 2011
Hi there Soundcatcher