Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with Atmega328 project

fastpcuser

Apr 8, 2012
I'm trying to build a circuit that uses two switches to turn on and off pump. I had it all set up on breadboard and it works fine, but when I created PCB it is not working properly. The pump does not turn on only when I unplug the power and plug it back in. I'm using 12V 1200mA power supply with LM7812C regulator for the pump and LM7805 for the Atmega328P microcontroller. This Microcontroller has the Optibot loader from Arduino. I tried to test with with the simple led blink test, and all my LED would blink the way they should. but I can't seem to get the motor/pump turn on.

I have attached PCB drawing ( need to clean it up little) and schematics.

PS: I'm new to electronics. Be nice.

Attachments

• Circuit.png
    Circuit.png
    49.9 KB · Views: 3,050
  • schem.png
    schem.png
    52.8 KB · Views: 487

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
The pump does not turn on only when I unplug the power and plug it back in

Clarify this, it works sometimes? But, then fails to work, and a reboot fixes it? That suggest a problem with your code...

Also you need a resistor on the base of the transistor, so you don't kill it, and you also have a problem with the voltage levels... You are using a 12v supply and trying to regulate it to 12v with an LM7812C... Either bypass the LM7812C and use the already existing 12 volts, or up your supply voltage in excess of 14.6v as the LM7812C needs at least 14.6v to operate properly...

fastpcuser

Apr 8, 2012
Actually the PS is 12 but the output is 14.6v . The motor turns on for few seconds after the microcontroller resets other than that it doesn't do anything.

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
Actually the PS is 12 but the output is 14.6v . The motor turns on for few seconds after the microcontroller resets other than that it doesn't do anything.