Connect with us

Help with a fan controller project

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Kin3TiX, Mar 29, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Kin3TiX

Kin3TiX

Mar 29, 2011
    Hello all, I am a new member and am looking for help on a project I am working on. I am an engineering student and this is an independent project I am taking on for a class, as well as something I am personally interested in pursuing.

Essentially I want to make a fan controller unit I can mount into a drive bay on my PC which will provide a front panel with three knobs, a switch and an lcd temperature readout. The unit will be powered through a 4 pin molex adapter that I intend to pull off the PSU or the PC. I will have three PWM fans hooked up to the unit and the three knobs will control the speed of each fan. If the switch is thrown the unit goes into "auto" mode which attempts to regulate the case temp by automatically modulating the speed of the PWM fans through the temperature reading being compared to a desired value. The temperature will be measured through a thermistor.

I have an Atmega 644PA microcontroller that we use in class and that I need to use for the project. The chip can provide 3 PWM signals and has ADC functionality for the manual knob speed controls and the temperature readings, as well as being able to drive the LCD screen.

My question is more about the actual power circuitry involved. I intend to use the 5V line on the molex adapter to power the microprocessor, but each fan requires 12V power and I do not know enough about power electronics to know how exactly I can power the fans off the 1, 12V line on the molex adapter. Is this possible? Also, does the "sense" pin on the PWM fans (aka tach line) need to be utilized or can it be floating?

Any advice would be helpful, I am trying to figure out where to start.

Thanks

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010