Connect with us

Help with 6 pin Server Fan / mod to 4 pin

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by ins0mniac, Jul 13, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. ins0mniac

ins0mniac

Jul 13, 2014
    Hi All,

I'm new to all this so bear with me, I've picked up a HP DL120 G6 rackmount server.

The fans on this server are expectedly very noisy and I can't find any quieter 6 pin fans to directly replace them with.

So, this brings me to my task of either modding a 3/4 pin fan getting it to work or using a fan controller to lower the voltage and drive the existing fans. (though I'd prefer replacing them)

The dual fans (12v 1.86A) and pin out looks like:
    I've already tried connecting a 3pin fan to the board (12V to Pin3, Tach to Pin1 and Ground to Pin2). The result of this was the Fan spins at start up but the server complains about a failed/missing fan and refuses to continue.

My research tells me the culprit could be Pin 5/Alarm needs to be driven to 0v to tell it everything is ok. Can someone advise how this should be best done?

I tried a wire from pin 5/Alarm on the board to the computers chassis in hope this would do it, but it didn't work, was abit of a flimsy connection though.

If anyone has done anything similar or can advise of a solution / technique to get 3 or 4 pin fan connected it would be highly appreciated!

Thanks

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Unless the fans are failing and are noisier than normal, expect them to be noisy and don't expect to make them quieter.

They're noisy because they are small diameter, high RPM, high airflow fans. The case almost certainly dictates the diameter, and the required airflow will dictate the RPM. I suspect the unit consists of 2 fans for redundancy, and if so, that will only make them noisier.

It's also not unexpected that if the server detects one fan not working it will run the remainder at full speed. Do you have a failed fan?

3. ins0mniac