Connect with us

Help.. Transformer question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Cruz Martniez, Nov 12, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Cruz Martniez

Cruz Martniez

Nov 12, 2014
    Im a little new to electronics and need some help. I have a boss that doesn't know too much about electronics and is giving me a wiring diagram of 12v car batteries where it explains how to wire them in series and parallel to get different results. She wants me to test our 12v transformers in the same wiring configurations. Our transformers are step down 120 to 12v 4 wires for the input and 2 on the output and we use them for LED lighting. my first question is
    1. Can you say a transformer is the same as a Car battery
    2. Can you use the same wiring diagram for both (transformers & Batteries)
    3. How would i be able to explain to her that they dont work the same way. She insists that a transformer is the same thing as a battery.

2. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    not really, the only close similarity is they can supply voltage and current
    you haven't told us if your 120V - 12V transformers ( assume you really mean plugpacks ??) have a 12V AC or DC output ??

you can, with limitations

the biggest difference would be a car battery would be able to supply much more current than the avg plugpack transformer

so clarify what these "transformers are for a start

and welcome to Electronics Point :)

Dave

3. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    1. In some respects, yes. In others no.