Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help programming an EEPROM (AT28C256)

Marc Mello

Nov 22, 2014
Hello Everyone,

Just a heads up, I am a EE undergrad and pretty new to electronics as a whole. So bear with me if I seem like a super noob ;)

I have spent over 30+ hours on this project already, and it's been fun. Didn't think I would make it this far on my own! This is my final project for my intro to embedded systems class, and I am trying to get it done early. There are no other students currently working on it which makes it hard to ask for help. Anyways I am about 95% done I'd say, but need some help writing/reading from the EEPROM.

Here is the gist of the Project:

The circuit reads a data file with pairs of addresses and data. The addresses/data is stored on the PC and interfaces an EEPROM via an USB I2CIO board. We are to use two 8 bit latches, one for addressees and one for data, that directly connect to the EEPROM. The addresses and data use the same bus so they are time multiplexed to the enable of the latches using a control bit from the 34-Pin IDC connector on USB I2CIO Board.

Once the EEPROM is programmed, a test file containing random pairs the same addresses/data pairs is read from the PC. The address is sent via the A ports to load the corresponding data from the EEPROM at that address.
The data of the test file is sent through the B ports and go straight to an 8bit comparator. The data pins from the EEPROM are also sent to the comparator to prove that the EEPROM was programmed correctly.

All of this is programmed via c++ coding.

Here is a schematic:

2cegk69.jpg

I also have LEDS connected to the DATA pins of the EEPROM for my own debugging.

The part I need help on is writing to the EEPROM. I have tried countless time but it doesn't seem to be programming my address/data pairs. I am pretty confused on how to send my OE WE CE signals to 1st take the address, and then the data.

There are 256 pairs so I have a loop going to write the whole file at once.