Connect with us

Help please - recording/playing device

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by pavla, Jan 3, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. pavla

pavla

Jan 3, 2015
    Hello, I have no idea where to start as I have no knowledge, no experience and absolutely no clue. I just have an idea...So here is my question. What do I need to build a small portable device for my babies where I can record any sound which can be played back to them. Some sort of voice recorder circuit which would have the capacity to play the same sound for at least 20 min?
    The problems I have:
    1. I don't know what parts I need to buy to build such an item
    2. I would like the sound to be quite nice, deep not hollow
    3. Any chance to have two pre-recorded sounds combined and again possibly played for longer period of time?

If is it too crazy and impossible please let me know. Otherwise I'm more than determined to build it.
    Any help will be very appreciated. Thank you very much

2. Anon_LG

Anon_LG

Jun 24, 2014
    Hello and welcome to EP!

Do you have any experience with computers and file organising? Do you have ANY previous experience with microcontrollers, programming or electronics in general?

The method I am currently thinking of suggesting is recording on your computer (if you have one) save the file as a .wav, load it onto a teensy 3.1 then get the teensy to play the file at the click of a switch. You would need:

Computer (with an audio program. Audacity, which is free, probably will work)
    Micro USB male to USB male cable
    Teensy 3.1
    Speaker
    Suitable power supply (3.7 to 5.5 volts)

There will be online tutorials for playing .wav files through the teensy. The audio case design to make the sound "deep not hollow" I can not help you with however.

If you are that determined get familiar with a teensy 3.1 and basic digital and analogue electronics.