Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help needed with a simple LED circuit

Alan Jones

Jun 26, 2014
Hi all, I hope someone can help me. Please forgive my ignorance, I have no background in electronics, but I can use a soldering iron and have a basic grasp of circuits. I have a motorcycle with a small LED in the instrument cluster which is a shift light. This lights up at a preset point to indicate when to shift to the next gear, the trouble is it is very small and easily missed when going at speed. The shift point is set within the instrument cluster as is the method of illumination, it can either be steady LED or flash. For anyone interested in seeing one in action, here is a short youtube video of someone who has already done this modification.

I believe the voltage at the LED is about 2.3v, but I will confirm this if/when I pull the cluster apart. My idea is solder a wire to the +ve side and run it outside the cluster and connect this to the base pole of an NPN transistor, something like this one which is rated at 1.5amp
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/321421930...eName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

Question 1. Do I need a resistor between the base source and the base connector. Most of the diagrams I have seen show one, if so how do I work out the size of the resistor required?

To the collector connect a 12v +ve feed from suitable source (just tap a switched source, there will be plenty around the cluster).

Connect the emitter to the positive side of a 12 LED car bulb (one similar to this one , rated at 0.3w)
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Hot-2-x-T...arts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM&hash=item5d4c822d52

Question 2. Can I just connect the bulb direct or does it need any kind of resistor between it and the emitter. As it is a 12v bulb, I assume it can be connected direct.

Connect -ve side of bulb to a -ve supply.

Question 3. Can I use any -ve supply or is their any benefit in using the -ve side of the LED in the cluster, I can't see that it would make any difference.