Maker Pro
Maker Pro

help needed on first project, led counters with key reset

geppetto

Mar 14, 2017
Hi all,

As the title says this is my first project and first post on the forum.
I'm not exactly new to electronics, but in the past i have always been more of a fault find and replace person, rather than designing and producing.

I want make a display with 2 counters. the display needs to fairly big, so its easily visible from a distance,
one to count the total number of days, one to keep a record of the highest number of days achieved.
Then to have a key switch to reset the first counter, rather than a button, so it can only be reset by me.
the counter would need to tick up on its own once per day and update the record if its beaten, so a micro controller and programme would be needed (i think)
I also want it to be battery powered, with a back up battery to keep the count in memory for when the main battery is replaced.

I'm sure after reading some of the posts on here, this would be doable for someone experienced, so im looking for help to get started and advice on what components to buy and how it all fits together.

many thanks in advance for any help/advice you can provide.

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
What you describe sounds more like one counter group that drives its own displays, plus it drives a latch group with its own displays. How many days max?

ak

Last edited:

geppetto

Mar 14, 2017
Thanks for helping,
Ideally the counters would go up to at least 999, but 9999 would be even better.

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
While this certainly can be done with a PIC, AVR, Arduino, etc., it is not too large for an all discrete design. The displays and their drivers are a constant. That leaves 12 chips:
4 counters
4 latches
4 magnitude comparators

ak

geppetto

Mar 14, 2017
Thanks for helping, sounds good it can be done pretty simply.
Could you explain it in more detail for me please or point me towards somewhere to learn more about it.