Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help Needed: Building 18V Power Supply for Power Tools

stevee2002

Dec 5, 2012
Hey guys,
I'm very new to understanding electronics, and I don't speak equation, but I'm hoping I can get some help with my project. I’m building a power supply to replace the 18Volt batteries on my Ryobi Power Tools; I’ve successfully completed it, but have ended up creating a 29V power supply, instead of 18-20V. I need to know what resistors I need to take my rectified voltage down to 20VDC so I can smooth it thru the capacitor for final use. I understand that I will need to wire them in series, but don’t know how to calculate the sizes I need that will maintain 20amps without burning up. Total voltage drop should be 8 or 9V. Equations welcome if each component is explained..