Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help: Motor Question

sitver

Apr 7, 2013
Hi all,

I'm rather new to electronics projects, and I'm building the first real, original design of my own volition.

I have a few small motors (1.5-3 v-powerwise) which I'd like to use to spin spools of thread for a certain portion of the machine, but I can't for the life of me figure out how to attach the spool to the tiny metal axel of the motor. I've tried sugru, hot glue, and wood glue (it was the only strong glue I had), but nothing seems to get the spool to stick.

Since y'all have so much more experience with these things, I figured you might have some ideas.

All help welcome,

thanks,

Michael

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
File away some of the axle such that it is no longer round in diameter but has a flat side. You can then use a small screw (e.g. a set screw) to clamp the spool against the flat part of the axle.
If the diameter of the axle allows, you could, instead of flattening, make a hole through the axle and fix the spool by threading a screw through this hole. I doubt that's easily feasible for a 3V motor, just wanted to suggest this alternative anyway.

Using glue you will have to look out for akind of glue that is suitable both for the metal of the axle and the material of the spool (presumably plastic?).

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
Epoxy glue will stick to most things (but not grease).

I have used wooden pulleys on motors (several watts) and all I did was to make the pulley hole a little small so that it was an interference fit.

Merlin3189

Aug 4, 2011
I've no idea what size your "spools" are, but I often attach things to small DC motors, which commonly have 2mm diameter shafts, by sliding a piece of rubber or plastic tube onto the shaft. This requires a bit of trial and error.

I also wrap plastic tape around to increase the diameter until it is a tight fit. This gets you up to an arbitrary size, but does not maintain accurate centering so well.