Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help in Timer circuit

Katherine1

Mar 2, 2013
Hi everyone.. I wanted to come up with a circuit that acts as a reminder. The general concept is that when I turn ON the switch, the timer will be triggered. After selecting the time interval, timer starts to coundown and a buzzer will beep to remind me that my time is up. I have to turn OFF the switch or else the buzzer will remain beeping.

I intend to use a 555 timer, piezo buzzer,9V battery and microswitch.
The time interval is set to 15mins, 30 mins and 60 mins (3 different buttons)

My problems are,
1. Is 555 timer able to run up to 60 mins?
2. How should I connect the resistors and capacitors in order to obtain the time I wanted?
3. Is there any similar diagrams that I can refer to?

Thank you for any helps and sorry for any mistakes because I am new to electronics and circuit.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Welcome on the forum.

No 2 first: as per the standard monoflop application (datasheet or Google)
No 3 second: as per the standard monoflop application (datasheet or Google)
No 1 last: In theory yes, but this long time will be very imprecise. You'll need big capacitors and resistors and the circuit will not be very stable. Don't do it.

For such long time intervalls a counter and a clock oscillator are to be preferred. You could use the CD4060 CMOS IC. It has an integrated oscillator and 14 bit counter. Figure 12 in the datasheet gives an example for a simple RC oscillator, figure 13 shows how to use a quartz. Setting different times will require additional decoding logic for the outputs.

Today, a modern solution would employ a simple microcontroller (e.g. Attiny, PIC...) where you can set the time easily in software.

PStevenson

Mar 1, 2013
a modern solution would be to use software in ucontrollers however
it's not real electronics and you won't learn very much so I would stick with either the CD4060 or the 555 timer