Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help identifying a resistor

Bernardo SOUSA

Aug 6, 2016
Hello there!

I need help identifying a faulty resistor that I pulled out from the primary circuit of a power supply board from an LG tv. The bands on this resistor are ambiguous to me. I can't decide if I read it from one side or the other, and I also can't decide if the 4th/2nd band is yellow, orange or gold.

Here are some pictures: https://goo.gl/photos/GtbsCU6KAksiY7USA

Any advice on identifying it is highly appreciated. Noob here! lol

Bernardo SOUSA

Aug 6, 2016
Thank you for your replies so far!

So, it's brown on the left, and the last green band is temperature coefficient? I was reading it as a 0.5% tolerance.

Have you checked it with a ohm meter?

All I have to test it is a cheep DT-830B digital multimeter, which reads infinite resistance/no current flow. The other resistors from the board behave totally different. They all let current through, all within their tolerances (if I'm not misinterpreting the bands).

Could be 1.5meg.
M.

So it is ambiguous! How to determine which resistor should I buy to replace it from the circuit board? Hopefully avoiding going to college to learn.

Bernardo SOUSA

Aug 6, 2016
Check this. Looks like 155k, 0.5% to me.

So far, three people looked at this thing and each said a different value. Am I doomed? lol

Edit: thanks for sharing that article. I've read many similar articles in the last 2 days, but I'm still confused by this particular resistor.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
DT-830B digital multimeter
This is an inexpensive meter based on a widely available integrated circuit. As long as it is assembled properly it is a fine meter for hobbyist use. The maximum resistance range is 2000 kΩ or 2 megohms, well within the range of a 1.5 MΩ resistor. You should test the meter to make sure it actually works on this range by measuring some known--good meg-ohm valued resistors.