Maker Pro
Maker Pro

help adapting a transformer to battery external laptop battery charger cable

juntjoo

Jun 8, 2015
If the title didn't make much sense I've included the pic. I'm a newb in electronics but I'm courageous enough to take this on. I lost the original transformer. These things look rare or are just made for these battery(directly to) chargers. You see transformers for random electronics at thrift stores all over so I'm wondering how I might go about grabbing one, the one with the right specs, and adapt it to this cable. As you can see the connector looks standard tho I don't think I've seen the accompanying female port on a transformer like that. They usually have that dual plug form. You know what I mean? So what are my options? Should I be able to find a .50 cent transformer that will fit this or can I rig it some how or get some parts from radio shack? Yeah, these charging cables new are like $70. No way. I'm halfway there and the only thing stopping me is a couple feet of metal and rubber stuff and I know you guys will have an answer. *fingers crossed*

Attachments

• IMAG0313.jpg
    IMAG0313.jpg
    112.3 KB · Views: 115

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Hi, if I understand you correctly, you lost your laptop charger.
You want to buy one from a thrift store.
But you have not seen a charger with the female jack?

As long as the charger / adapter you buy has very similar specs to the original it will be fine.
Also, make sure the polarity is the same as the original too. ie centre pin + or -.
There is normally a tiny reference to that on the adapter body where the specs are.
So assuming you buy the said adapter, all you will need is a female to female jack. Take adapter and your cable when you buy this as there are a few sizes..

Like this..

upload_2015-6-8_8-42-5.jpegHope this helps.
Martin.

juntjoo

Jun 8, 2015
Ah, good idea. I shall rummage through the thrift shops and electronics store for such an adapter. thank you!

juntjoo

Jun 8, 2015