Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Headphones from amp speaker wires

L B Masters

Nov 30, 2016
View attachment 30585 Hi all, hope I'm in the right place.

I'm new to electronics, but I can follow directions,lol.
I have a situation where I wired a headphone jack to the speaker wires
of my ACX450 Behringer acoustic guitar amp.
45 watt output, 4 Ohm speaker.

I used 1/4" mono jack with the contact that disconnects the speaker when the phones are
plugged in. I've read all the warnings about running an amp with no load to the speaker wires,
but it's not actually cutting the load, but switching the load to the phones.
Besides most techies say a solid state amp isn't affected by no load operation like tube amps are.
In any case, I WILL NOT run the amp through the phones until I get the correct value and placement of resisters
to get the volume close to the level it would be through the speaker for practice.
The problem I have is that It's drastically overdriving the phones.

Does anyone know of a diagram to wire this jack for the correct for
a resistance range that will allow me to use phones at a higher volume than 1 or 2 at the most.

Attachments

• ACX450 Specs.JPG
    ACX450 Specs.JPG
    269.2 KB · Views: 149

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
I would start with a 100Ω resistor in series with the phones. If it is still overdriving, try higher.

Bob

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
The resistor calculation depends on the impedance and sensitivity of each earphone that you did not say.
Does the amplifier produce 45 Whats per channel or 45 real Watts?

L B Masters

Nov 30, 2016
Very good question Guru,
As to the earphone resistance, I didn't think it had to be that exact because people buy different headphones all the time without even thinking about it.
I have two old pairs, one is 32 Ohm the other 40 Ohm.
I'd like to buy a good pair, but I'm waiting to get this figured out first.
Guess it's a catch 22 situation.
Isn't there a range I can shoot for that is within a standard for headphones?