Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Handheld Motion Scanning Device - Help

SystemShock

May 17, 2015
I'd like to build a motion scanning device that detects moving bodies within a twenty meter radius, emitting a sound when it picks up activity. Much like the scanner in the alien movies. I know it is a cheesy project, but I'm new to electronics and would like to improve by taking on a project like this. I haven't found any plans online, so would anyone be able to provide me with some plans or instructions? I would really appreciate any help, as the only plans I found were for a replica of a scanner from the alien movies. Though I do not want to make a replica, just something similar.

I would appreciate any advice or help, thanks

Anon_LG

Jun 24, 2014
It sounds like you would need a PIR sensor module, Try picking one from this page. Beware when ordering from hong-kong, the five I ordered took almost two months to arrive, though they show no signs of surface damage, then again, I hav enot got around to testing whether they work yet. Search for a module, that is it should have a white dome attached to a PCB. Connection is simple, the modules usually have power supply,out and GND pins. If this sounds suitable, message me back and I could suggest how to build the circuit.

Hope this helps,

SystemShock

May 17, 2015
Thanks for your reply Lavaguava. I had a look on eBay and I found a PIR module, but what is the PCB module that you are referring to? this is my first electrical project so I don't know many different components at the moment. Also, I am trying to build a sensor that graphically displays bodies on a small screen , as a white dot, such as in Aliens, and project a tracking sound at the same time. Can you suggest a shopping list for that?

Anon_LG

Jun 24, 2014