Connect with us

hall sensor - quiscent voltage

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by vamsee, Feb 27, 2013.

  1. vamsee

    vamsee

    36
    0
    Jan 10, 2013
  2. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,290
    1,756
    Sep 5, 2009
    what voltage are you measuring across the resistor load ?

    and do you get any change in voltage when a magnet is moved to and away from the device ?

    Dave
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  3. vamsee

    vamsee

    36
    0
    Jan 10, 2013
    Hi, thanq for the reply..

    I am measuring 0.71V without magnet... and 0.11V when magnet placed near to it...
     
  4. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    9,295
    1,886
    Nov 17, 2011
    You need to connect all 3 pins. Ground is missing from your schematic and probably from your circuit, too.
     
  5. vamsee

    vamsee

    36
    0
    Jan 10, 2013
    i have connected them to ground.. -ve's of battery, voltage regulator, hall sensor, capacitor and resistor..
     
  6. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    9,295
    1,886
    Nov 17, 2011
    Your schematic doesn't show this.
    Are your sure that you have the pins right (especially input and output)?
     
  7. vamsee

    vamsee

    36
    0
    Jan 10, 2013
    I checked these initially and then came for ur help.. inputs, outputs and gnd all carefully checked and connected.. But still i wonder y i am not getting the result as expected..

    its not a tough circuit though, since its simple one and not getting the result, i am feeling really bad...
     
  8. vamsee

    vamsee

    36
    0
    Jan 10, 2013
    let me explain by words..

    positive of battery is connected to the input of voltage regulator(VR) and output of VR is connected to the 5V power line in the breadboard.. the positive of capacitor is connected in the 5V line. The input of hall sensor is connected to the positive of capacitor. the ouput of hall sensor is connected to the resistor. All -ve and gnds are connected to the ground line in the breadboard... Finally the output is measured across the load resistor..
     
  9. vamsee

    vamsee

    36
    0
    Jan 10, 2013
    Hi!! Should i use capacitor between positive and gnd of voltage regulator?
     
  10. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    9,295
    1,886
    Nov 17, 2011
    Yes, always. Both on input and output. Se the application notes for the chip you use.
    Without capacitor most regulators are not stable.
     
  11. vamsee

    vamsee

    36
    0
    Jan 10, 2013
  12. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    9,295
    1,886
    Nov 17, 2011
    Sorry, I wasn'r entirely clear: I meant the application note for the voltage regulator you use.
     
  13. vamsee

    vamsee

    36
    0
    Jan 10, 2013
    the whole circuit is similar to me... but i didnt use the capacitors as used there...

    is my hall sensor is correct? i mean, am i using correct hall sensor?
     
  14. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    9,295
    1,886
    Nov 17, 2011
    Correct for what or in which way?

    Did you try the capacitors?
    Have you measured the output of the voltage regulator?
     
  15. vamsee

    vamsee

    36
    0
    Jan 10, 2013
    i just ordered the capacitors ;) have to wait till tomo..

    ya i measured the output of voltage regulator and it showed 5V..
     
  16. CDRIVE

    CDRIVE Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3

    4,960
    648
    May 8, 2012
    Initially I was betting that a 47R was mistaken for a 4.7K but the Data Sheet specs Zo = 2R min - 5R max. So even a 47R wouldn't load it this much. What does the output measure with no load?

    Second thought... The A1301 is Kaput.

    Chris
     
  17. vamsee

    vamsee

    36
    0
    Jan 10, 2013
    HI!!

    the hall sensor output measuring 0.71V without magnetic field...
     
  18. CDRIVE

    CDRIVE Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3

    4,960
    648
    May 8, 2012
    OK, sorry about that. It should be close to zero then. Once again... bad sensor, wired wrong? Not much options left.

    Chris
     
  19. vamsee

    vamsee

    36
    0
    Jan 10, 2013
    http://www.allegromicro.com/Product...ICs/Linear-Position-Sensor-ICs/A1321-2-3.aspx

    in the above link, they have mentioned thatA1321, 22, and 23 have been altered.. Unfortunately i am using A1322. Will this be the reason, for not getting the output?

    i have ordered the alternative as well...
     
  20. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    9,295
    1,886
    Nov 17, 2011
    According to the datasheet the A1321-1232 differ in noise and sensitivity, but all should have Vout=50%Vcc at zero mag. field. Something else is wrong.

    Can you measure the Vcc and Vout with an oscilloscope to verify that these voltages are straight DC and none of the components is oscillating?
     
Ask a Question
Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?
You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Electronics Point Logo
Continue to site
Quote of the day

-