Connect with us

Hacking a microwave oven

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Al Kidder, Nov 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Scroll to continue with content
  1. Al Kidder

Al Kidder

Nov 7, 2015
    1st of all, I'm not an electronics hobbyist. I'm a cooking hobbyist.I have a problem which involves electronics and I am far too unmotivated to learn for myself all about electronics.So maybe somebody here can solve the problem.

This is the problem. I have not managed to find a convection microwave oven which allows me independent control over the 3 functions, microwave power, oven temperature, and grill temperature. But that is what I want to do, set my own values for the 3 variables. That will make the oven much more useful to me.

So I'm hoping that somebody here can help me out, either by hacking a microwave oven for me to give me the independent controls, for which, obviously, I will pay you; or by telling me if there is a business operating in the Sydney/Wollongong area that does that sort of thing for a living.

2. Bluejets

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
    I doubt you will find anyone with the experience and know-how will even consider such a task.
    Microwaves can be lethal.
    Not the type of thing one hacks.

3. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    I would agree with bluejets
    I seriously doubt you would find some one who could or is prepared to
    play with a microwave oven like this

Dave

4. ramussons

ramussons

Jun 10, 2014
    The microwave oven has presets ( i guess that's what you are referring to) that are programmed in a chip. You will have to re program / replace those chips.

5. Al Kidder

Al Kidder

Nov 7, 2015
    Isn't it possible to make a separate controller unit for each function? I really mainly just want to control the oven temperature while the microwave does its work.
    I can't see why you think that microwaves are lethal. I'm not planning to run it with the door open.

6. Bluejets