Connect with us

H Bridge help

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by dallypost, Jan 3, 2012.

1. dallypost

dallypost

Jan 3, 2012
    Hi All,

This is my first post on this forum. I have a product that we have marketed for a few years now. I use an AVR 644P, an off the shelf motor controller, and a resistive divider to control a 1/4 horse DC motor speed and direction.

I want to release a portable version that runs on a 12 volt car battery. I want to create an h bridge circuit to provide motor control via pulse width modulation.

Here is my problem. I am not an engineer. I have found a tutorial ( http://hades.mech.northwestern.edu/index.php/Driving_a_high_current_DC_Motor_using_an_H-bridge )that may work for me but I have been able to find an answer to one question. I need the motor to aggressively break to a stop. The second paragraph of this tutorial states that "To keep the motor stationary, forward voltage is applied half of the time and reverse voltage is applied half of the time (PWM=50% duty). If the voltage reversals are at a high enough frequency, the cycling is unnoticeable." I know that this is not regen braking, but will it accomplish the same result?

Thanks.

2. Resqueline

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
    I believe that will quikcly brake and keep any motor type quite stationary.
    To brake a PM motor fast initially you can also just keep the lower bridge transistors on. This won't keep it from crawling from a constant external force though.

3. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    Many years have passed since I had to study electrical machines (motors). But from what I remember and what seems logical: