Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Graphical LCDs: alternatives and drivers

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Hi all,

I've taken on a design project that will need a monochrome graphical LCD, and I've never worked with LCDs before, so I would appreciate any advice!

The application is a small display unit to be permanently mounted in a special-purpose slow-moving vehicle, to display information to the driver/operator.

We're currently looking at the Crystalfontz CFAG19264A-YYH-TN module (https://www.crystalfontz.com/product/CFAG19264AYYHTN) with 192x64 dots and a viewing area of 102 × 39 mm. Dot pitch is 0.5 mm (50.8 dpi).

It is a module with a parallel MCU interface, with an STN positive display with a yellow-green LED backlight, transreflective (I don't really know what transreflective and STN positive mean), 6 o'clock viewing direction, and an internal negative voltage generator.

It requires a 5V logic supply, an "LCD operating voltage" of about 8V, and a backlight supply of 540 mA at around 4.2V (4.4V maximum). These shouldn't be a problem, although the 8V supply is a bit of a nuisance. There's no specification on how much current it needs.

The module includes a controller which is apparently compatible with the Samsung KS0107 (https://www.crystalfontz.com/controllers/DS_S6B0107_V00.pdf) or KS0108 (https://www.crystalfontz.com/controllers/DS_S6B0108_V00.pdf) operating at 1:64 multiplex ratio, and is available with a demonstration board (https://www.crystalfontz.com/product/CFA10006.html) that has an Atmel ATmega2561 (AVR architecture) on it.