Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Going shopping

jamus

Feb 10, 2013
Hello. I am a second year EE student with an interest in circuit repair, however I have not had the opportunity to venture into that area as of yet. This summer I would like to begin. I know just enough to be dangerous :D.

Right now I have about $581 CAD to spend on equipment.
Here is a list I have made of what I think I will need to be able play around and hopefully learn something in the process.

Big purchases:
-An oscilloscope
-A function generator
-A DC source
-A good temperature controlled soldering station

Small purchases:
-Alligator clip wires
-a 'second hand' or whatever that clip stand thing is called
-Perf board
-One of those white plastic boards for prototyping
- 63/37 flux core solder, or 60/40 whatever I can get
-extra iron tips, chisel, conical
-flux

I know that buying tools is a bad idea before you know what you wish to accomplish, but I think that these are some pretty basic things that I will need in the future.

Is there anything missing from my list that I should get?
Do I need a bigger budget?
Are there any specific pieces of equipment you would recommend?
What is your advice on the oscilloscope? Would buying a old Techtronics be a good idea? Or should I go digital? Sampling rate?
Advice on the big purchases?

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
I'd ignore the function generator.

For a power supply on a budget, modify a PC power supply. Be careful, it won't give you current limiting!

If you don't know what you want, get a cheap second-hand oscilloscope. By the time you know what you want, you may find you need to spend larger $$$ than your current budget. But a cheap analogue second-hand scope will punch well above its weight. You may need to buy probes if the old meter doesn't come with them.

A good multimeter is essential.

Temp controlled iron is a great investment

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
Long nosed pliers
Side cutters
Solder sucker
Desoldering braid
Heat shrink sleeving