Connect with us

Getting started with wireless communications

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by TheKrieger, May 21, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. TheKrieger

TheKrieger

Nov 4, 2011
    I want to develop a close-range, low-power and small-data-rate wireless module for an embedded system that has two inputs that are a few meters away and control an output. So far, I have been using cables to do the job, but I would like to switch to a wireless communication model. I have no experience in this area and I would like to know which is the best technology to start with (Nordic, Zigbee, etc) having the most professional approach possible.
    One of the obstacles I have been facing to this moment is that I do not know how to identify each device separately. I have several of these devices on the same room and each one must have it's own remote control; exactly like a car or garage key.
    So, having this in mind, where should I start? What would be the best technology to use? Where can I find information?

Thank you,

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    If your device has a micro-controller, check out the small 2.4GHx NRF24L01+ boards.

I've just got a few to play with, so I can't verify how easy they are to use, but the chipset offers what is pretty much a reliable comms link that you can stick data in one end and get it out of the other (range permitting).

They're fairly complex to use, but there are libraries available for various controllers.

The datasheets are easily obtainable and the boards are available for a couple of dollars each as long as you're OK with antennas on the PCB.

3. poor mystic

poor mystic

Apr 8, 2011
    :)
    I wonder how much data you need to shift over this short link?

4. CocaCola

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012