Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Generating a 5V Clock Signal

JHarmon

Jun 30, 2012
(Please excuse any stupid questions, I'm new to this)

I'm trying to generate a 5V clock signal to be used with this 74LS00 series binary counter:
http://www.futurlec.com/74LS/74LS161.shtml

I need a 4 MHz signal, but I'm really struggling to get any clock designs to work. What kind of circuit will be the easiest way to accomplish this?

JHarmon

Jun 30, 2012
Embarrassingly enough, I have a crystal oscillator like that that I've been working with...

But for some reason, the circuit I have it in won't produce a frequency that will trigger the counter. I have the output buffed through a 74LS00 NAND gate (to get it to a 0V to 5V square signal), then connected to the clock pin on my counter.

I know my counter circuit is working. I tried pulsing it at 1 MHz with a 555 timer, and they worked fine (but I can't get a 555 timer to 4 MHz).

Have I wired the oscillator incorrectly? I have no connection to pin #1, +5V to pin #14, and pin #7 is grounded.

Or will this require a more complicated circuit?

hexreader

Apr 21, 2011
I have no connection to pin #1, +5V to pin #14, and pin #7 is grounded.
Sounds good to me. You make no mention of pin 8 output to your circuit, but I am assuming that is connected.

I reckon that should be all you need.

All I can think of to try further might be:

Put a 0.1uF decoupling capacitor across 5v supply as close as possible to the oscillator. I trust you have a decoupling capacitor close to each chip in your circuit.

Try connecting one end of a 1K resistor to pin 1, then the other end to +5V
Try connecting one end of a 1K resistor to pin 1, then the other end to 0V
(pin 1 is output enable on some oscillators and I guess they will default to enable with no connection, but I am not certain)

Check the 5V supply line with a voltmeter, in case the oscillator is drawing more current than the power supply can give.