Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Forgive me for I know not what I do....

MichaelVanquish

Jul 3, 2015
Hi there, I Googled for this, but since I am an absolute electronics novice, I don't even know what to type into Google so I didn't find an answer.

The question is, I'm trying to make a simple switch. The problem I want it to solve is this: I have a commodore 64 with two 9-pin din joystick inputs and one joystick. The joystick will work in either port, but I want to make a switch so I don't have to unplug the joystick when I want to change ports, I just want to flick a switch, for convenience but to save wear on the important part too, the 64 itself.

Is that explanation clear enough? Two input sockets, one joystick, a switch to choose which port it's connected too.

I don't know what your 64 knowledge is like but I'm pretty sure not all 9 pins are relevant for a joystick with only five switches.... one for each cardinal point and the fire button. Here is a diagram:

http://www.cbmitapages.it/tecnico/con3.gif

My basic idea is I should be able to buy two nine pin female din connectors, the kind you usually find on the plug end of a joystick lead, and one 9 pin male socket, the kind you usually find on the side of a 64. Between them I should be able to solder a switch which selects which port is connected to the joystick.

My first problem is I don't even know the correct terminology: What's the name of a switch which reroutes nine lines in either one direction or another? Is there such a thing? And what's the name for a cable with something like 6 or 7 wires running through it?

Mainly though, what do I need to do to make this little baby work??? :)

Thanks in advance for any help you are willing to supply.

Mike.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Hi there, I Googled for this, but since I am an absolute electronics novice, I don't even know what to type into Google so I didn't find an answer.