Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Flurescent Lamp possible ballast issues

boinc21

May 19, 2019
Hi all,

I’m a beginner with electronics, we have this lamp and we changed the bulb and it didn’t turn on, I had the bulb replaced in case it was defective same thing. I tried different wallplugs in case. I have contacted the company about getting a new ballast but they do not provide any.

There is a Electronic Ballast Model : YY-12-D Class P. I tried to look for this online. I took it apart, and I have attached some pictures. I couldn’t see anything really wrong, maybe F1 I think it’s a fuse? But the capacitors and resistors look okay, as well as the circuit traces, if I am not mistaken. Again I’m beginner to this, so I don’t know most of the components. I do have access to a voltmeter, and a soldering iron. I am not sure what to test if anyone can help out please.

Thanks
boinc21

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    42.9 KB · Views: 14
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    53.7 KB · Views: 13
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    150.2 KB · Views: 15
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    188.2 KB · Views: 14
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    181.8 KB · Views: 13

FuZZ1L0G1C

Mar 25, 2014
First check if your lamp-holder contacts are making proper connection.
They may be stretched open from wear or oxidized.
If your 'voltmeter' is a multi-meter, meaning it can measure ohms, volts, amps (at least), and hopefully has a diode test function and capacitance range as well, you can start with the cord, fuse F1, move to transformer continuity, rectifier diodes, capacitors.
MAINS POWER OFF AND UNPLUGGED
  1. Check continuity from cord's plug to supply wires in lamp base. See '2' below for how.Check across fuse terminals on ohms or continuity buzzer. 0 or very low reading (or beep) = fuse good. Otherwise renew fuse.
  2. On ohms scale (pref auto range) check transformer primary and secondary winding. OL = open, i.e. faulty.
  3. With meter on Ω (ohms), continuity, or diode test, measure each diode one-by one, incl. reversing test leads.