Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Fisher CR-110 Cassette Deck problem

NickatNight

Jul 19, 2010
I have had this Fisher CR-110 cassette deck for quite awhile. All of a sudden, it starts playing louder in the left channel. Tapes that used to play normally now play louder in the left channel. I taped a 1 khz note off of youtube using a BIC T2M cassette deck. I adjusting the vu meters so that they are even at 0 vu while recording. I then played the tape back on the BIC, and the vu meters were even at about 0 vu. Next, I played the tape back on the Fisher, and the left channed is significantly louder. I've cleaned and demagnitized the heads. Anybody got any ideas on this? I have some experience with discrete circuits but not a lot with IC's. I do have the repair manual for the Fisher.
Thanks,
Nickatnight

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Does the volume control affect both channels?

NickatNight

Jul 19, 2010
It doesn't have a volume control, it's just a cassette deck. Tapes that were previously recorded and played okay now play louder in the left channel. All cassettes were recorded as close as I could get at 0 VU. Now, when I play them back, the left channel is louder and the meter shows close to +3 on the VU meter.
Thanks,
Nick

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
Seriously clean the tape heads, and transport rollers. Odds are, they need cleaning.. I know you said you cleaned them, ...Hoping it's not one of the heads themselves going bad. Other problem I've seen a lot of, is the switching mechanism for forward and reverse needing cleaning. When they get dirty, one channel plays at a reduced volume over the other. Just some things to check, before you get into the circuit. (NOT the push-button on the faceplate, ....the mechanical assy at the tape heads).

Last edited:

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
It's a very strange fault indeed; that it's stronger than it used to be on one channel.. The only explanation I can come up with for such a fault is as follows: