Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Fireflies blinking lights

Johnny Funch

Dec 8, 2014
Hello,

This past week we spent in Disney and they have these blinking lights in the trees that light up kind of like fire flies and I've searched high and low but can't find anything like it, and was told they're custom made for Disney.

I was wondering how much work it could be to create an led bulb that blinks at a seemingly random time. I don't really care if it's really random, it's going in a huge tree so no-one will know but if it doesn't add much more why not.

My envisioned creation would have 20 or so lights with wires to a 'control-box' but then I thought maybe it's easier to just create individual self-contained devices that blink.

By the way, these will live outside and we do get rain in Florida, so they'd have to be able to survive that.

So... I am probably a complete newbie compared to most of you and for all intents and purposes I'd probably need some 'handholding'...

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated, be gentle...

~j

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
A quick web search reveals that there are "blinking LEDs" available, as well as numerous circuits to make ordinary LEDs blink. IIRC, a firefly blink is a rapidly increasing pulse of light followed by a slower decay. Haven't actually studied any real fireflies lately to verify my recollection.