Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Finding Vmax

bfickes

Jul 22, 2009
I am a electronics student (self-teaching) with Grob's Basic Electronics Textbook. In the problems manual I've come across a word problem that I cannot solve. The problem deals with Vmax. Here is the problem: A 1-k Ohm 1/4-W resistor and a 1.5-k Ohm 1/8-W resistor are in series. What is the maximum amount of voltage that can be applied to this circuit without exceeding the wattage rating of either resistor? The formula for for Vmax is the square root of the P-rating x resistance. Solving for the 1-k Ohm 1/4 W resistor I get 15.8 V and for the 1.5-k Ohm 1/8-W resistor I get 13.7 V. When added together they total 29.5 V. The answer in back of the book is 22.82 V. Does anybody know how to solve for this problem? :confused:

Last edited:

jasonben

Jul 15, 2009
I am a electronics student (self-teaching) with Grob's Basic Electronics Textbook. In the problems manual I've come across a word problem that I cannot solve. The problem deals with Vmax. Here is the problem: A 1-k Ohm 1/4-W resistor and a 1.5-k Ohm 1/8-W resistor are in series. What is the maximum amount of voltage that can be applied to this circuit without exceeding the wattage rating of either resistor? The formula for for Vmax is the square root of the P-rating x resistance. Solving for the 1-k Ohm 1/4 W resistor I get 15.8 V and for the 1.5-k Ohm 1/8-W resistor I get 13.7 V. When added together they total 29.5 V. The answer in back of the book is 22.82 V. Does anybody know how to solve for this problem? :confused: