Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Feedback bronze wall

IDontWantMyUsername

Apr 21, 2014
Hi people, I'm looking for some insights on a project where basically a bronze wall is going to work as a sound element in a feedback loop. I'm totally new to electronics, so bear with me! Quickly put - I'm here, and I'm eager to learn.

Some details:

The wall consists of two panels, both made of bronze; a front panel consisting of multiple smaller panels, and one solid inner panel. The inner and outer panels have a 10 cm gap or so in between (I'll get the specifics straightened out soon, and maybe have some pictures uploaded). The smaller panels making up the front have enough space between them to give access to the inner panel. Between the panels, we want to install a mechanism, causing constant feedback when a front panel is put into vibration. I will find out the dimensions and mass of the outer panels and announce them as soon as I can, but I would guess each is 3 m in height, and 1 m in width. I would guess the thickness to be about 1,5 cm. The walls are very resonant.

The plan:

1: Make an outer panel vibrate by hitting it once, and pick up the vibrations with a piezo element or contact microphone attached to its backside.
2: Send the voltage from the piezo elements to a voltage amplifier attached to the inner panel.
3: Send the voltage to motors which will be attached either to the outer, or the inner* panel, which will have a mechanism making the outer panels vibrate softly.
4: The signal is sent in a feedback loop.

*We have two suggestions as to how the motors could make the outer panels vibrate.

1: A number of pneumatic motors attached to the inner wall hammer against an outer panel.
2: A number of motors attached to an outer panel, working as g-force generators by rotating some kind of asymmetrical disk attached to them, make the panels vibrate.

Some questions:

- What power source would you recommend for such an installation?