Maker Pro
Maker Pro

External power supply for DSLR camera

Angus Duncan

Jan 22, 2015
Hello,

I am trying to make an external power supply that can power my DSLR camera for extended periods (up to 12 hours) so that I can shoot long timelapses. Regular camera batteries only give a few hours, especially in the cold.

The camera can accept 7.4 - 9 V 2.5 A. I have a 15000 mAh battery that supplies 9 V 2.0 A (measured voltage 9.1 V). My question is, should I be using a DC voltage regulator to drop the voltage to something within the range that the camera can accept, and is the Amps difference between the battery supply and the camera an issue?

Any advice on this would be appreciated, I have little experience with electronics. Thanks.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Hello,

I am trying to make an external power supply that can power my DSLR camera for extended periods (up to 12 hours) so that I can shoot long timelapses. Regular camera batteries only give a few hours, especially in the cold.

The camera can accept 7.4 - 9 V 2.5 A. I have a 15000 mAh battery that supplies 9 V 2.0 A (measured voltage 9.1 V). My question is, should I be using a DC voltage regulator to drop the voltage to something within the range that the camera can accept, and is the Amps difference between the battery supply and the camera an issue?

Any advice on this would be appreciated, I have little experience with electronics. Thanks.
You want voltage to be exact or as close to the requirements for the camera.
If it accepts 7.4 - 9V than 9.1V will very likely be just fine.
As far as the amps are concerned... the rating on the camera is what it will 'pull'. The rating on your battery is how much it can provide. If the camera attempts to pull more than what is available, the voltage may dip. The voltage dip could be high enough to make the camera think the battery is dead, or cause some ... oddities with the camera behaving correctly. So.. to resolve this problem, you can hook up two batteries in parallel.