Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Ethernet camera less wires = want

yongjaewon

Oct 27, 2012
Hi I have an IP camera that uses Ethernet cable as signal and a seperate power source. I need to reduce the number of wires that are needed to send the video signal. Is that even possible? Maybe something like a parallel to serial convertor thing? (I'm not sure). Look I'm not very good at electronics and I won't understand if you throw in jargons without explanation so keep it simple. Thanks. I'll post the camera model number when I go to work tomorrow since it's at my workplace.

donkey

Feb 26, 2011
to keep it very simple show us model numbers.
the likely hood of this being doable is high.
the likely hood of being able to do it without outside help is small,
is this hooked up to a computer or does it use the ethernet cable and connect to a standard tv?

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
I'd google "Power over ethernet"

donkey

Feb 26, 2011
what voltage is ethernet?
the only thing I thought would be the issue is making the camera run on that voltage.

yongjaewon

Oct 27, 2012
The model number is Axis 206. The camera is connected via Ethernet to a network bridge and the bridge is wirelessly connected to the computer. Is the camera using all of the wires in Ethernet cable? I'm sure I don't need POE because I have a seperate power source. I need to minimize the number of wires inside Ethernet cable needed to transfer video. Thanks

donkey

Feb 26, 2011
why would you want to do that? are you adding more cameras using one chord?
what you are trying is possible, but a network switch might be cheaper
just let us know the full story before you go hacking into chords or even worse into the camera

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
POE essentially involves using the unused wires in your ethernet cable to run power to a device.

Some devices implement this internally, most do not.

Yes, you isolate those wires and connect them up to power (in the most basic case).