Connect with us

EPROM for Automotive

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by Rosco, Nov 17, 2016.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Rosco

Rosco

Nov 17, 2016
    Hi, I'm an automotive technician, and was called to a shop to program a car's vin into a new ECM. After arriving, I learned that it was a used pcm, and this particular year didn't allow you to reprogram. So, I removed the EPROM from the original ecm (with the car's vin already programmed into it) and soldered it into the replacement pcm.

Unfortunately, the problem was the EPROM itself. This rarely happens, but there was actually a code in the computer saying that it was bad - in not so many words. It was as code P0605 - ROM error. Since there were other IC's with memory and I was out of options, I swapped them.

In this particular case they could have ordered a remanufactured pcm for less than they paid for the one from the junk yard.
    That isn't always the case though. Sometimes they're $2000. Plus labor and the cost of programming on a $3000 car. It's not happening.

This brings me to my questions.

Would this EPROM, which contains the software that runs the car and the immobilizer information, have a BIOS in it, or would the BIOS be in another IC?

If it does contain a BIOS, would it be programmed in from the IC factory or would it be a part of the program that I install when flashing a new computer into the car?

If the BIOS is in the EPROM and already in it from the original factory, is it erasable?

This last question I'm wondering because the code refers specifically to a ROM error. I'm wondering if there is a non erasable portion of the EPROM.

The reason for all of these questions is to figure out if I can just buy a new EPROM, put it in, and program it. (or an erased EPROM)

Thanks

2. Rosco

Rosco

Nov 17, 2016