Maker Pro
Maker Pro

epicly easy question

abkarch

Nov 17, 2011
Im completely new to all this. So im just making sure i have everything straight.
Lets say I was hooking a EL wire up to USB.
The maximum current of USB is 500 mA. Therefore, the EL wire must have a current input less than or equal to 500 mA.

USB has a max voltage of about 5V. Therefore, the EL wire was have also less than or equal to 5V. is this correct?

Also, lets say i wanted to hook 2 fans up to one USB port. Is it right to say that both combined can have no more than 500 mA and 5V? so if each fan was 235mA and 2V, than it would be fine? (these are random numbers, pulled out of my head)

And im not exactly sure how resistors come into all of this, could someone explain it simply?

Oh, and if A 10V fan was connected to a 5VUSB, would the fan just spin slower?

Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
The maximum current of USB is 500 mA. Therefore, the EL wire must have a current input less than or equal to 500 mA.

Yes.

USB has a max voltage of about 5V. Therefore, the EL wire was have also less than or equal to 5V. is this correct?

No, it should be exactly 5V.

The voltage must match (you can have a little leeway in somethings)

Also, lets say i wanted to hook 2 fans up to one USB port. Is it right to say that both combined can have no more than 500 mA
Yes, if they are both 5V fans then they need to be connected in parallel and in total draw no more than 500mA

and 5V? so if each fan was 235mA and 2V, than it would be fine? (these are random numbers, pulled out of my head)
No. In general you can't put motors in series (so two 2.5V motors in series may sound fine, but won't work) although *some* things can be put in series.

The total voltage needs to add up to (in this case) 5V, and the current required from both needs to be identical.

And im not exactly sure how resistors come into all of this, could someone explain it simply?