Connect with us

Emergency Vehicle Lights

Discussion in 'LEDs and Optoelectronics' started by CDork, Jul 4, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. CDork

CDork

Jul 4, 2013
    Hey guys,

This is my first post and I'm not all too knowledgeable about electronics. I have basic info about some components from electronics classes in high school (two years ago) but really the only thing I got out of the class was how to solder...

A little bit of info about me to have this project make sense:
    I'm a volunteer firefighter/EMT with my local company. I think our average response time (time from when the dispatch comes out to when we're in the truck leaving the station) is between 5 and 10 minutes. Most often, the most time wasted in getting to the station is sitting in traffic because people don't realize we're in a hurry :p so we're allowed to have blue emergency lighting on our personal vehicles. Most of these lighting set ups you can buy are pretty darn expensive considering I'm a college student working two jobs outside of my volunteering.

So, I want to make my own lights to put in my car.

I need some help deciding what circuit to make/build.
    A few restrictions:
    1) These lights have to be BRIGHT. They need to be clearly visible during the day to the guy driving 15 below the speed limit in front of me.
    2) I want four groups of 2 or 3 LEDs and I want them to light in a specific order (see attached picture)
    3) I want to be able to run it from my cigarette lighter if possible (car batteries end up putting out a bit more than 12v
    4) A switch to be able to turn it on and off so I can leave it plugged in, also if possible.

Now I'm a Biomedical Technology major in college here in Pennsylvania so I need electronics at some point and I prefer sooner than later :D