Connect with us

Electronics Project Help!

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Felix Murray, Jul 14, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Felix Murray

Felix Murray

Jul 14, 2015
    Hi everyone,
    I don't know what I'm talking about very much, so if I make a mistake in explaining, bear with me :)

I'm a busker and a student, and want to create a (reasonably) portable power supply that I can take around with me when busking. All I need is to power a small amp (which has a 3-pin mains plug) through which I play backing tracks; I'm a jazz trumpet player so only need a little accompaniment, and a USB phone charger to keep my phone charged so it doesn't run out of battery halfway through playing a track! I have considered just buying a battery powered amp, which would solve this problem, but, 1) I don't have a large budget (under £100) and I can't find a decent battery amp loud enough to busk with for that budget, and 2) I enjoy technology and the idea of building something to solve this problem sounds quite fun! I have a small amp already, don't need another one, and want to use my battery setup for other things too, anyway, like charging a phone while camping, for example.

From my research so far I have found a few things, correct me if I'm wrong:

Things called inverters can change the output from a 12V (car?) battery into mains AC current that will power a 3-pin plug - they come in different power outputs, I think I would only need one that does 150W given the amp I'm using is very small. The inverter I'm looking at is here: http://www.halfords.com/motoring-tr...ers-power-packs/12v-150w-inverter-with-2a-usb
    I like that one because it has a USB slot too, meaning I could easily charge my phone at the same time.