Connect with us

Electronic whack-a-mole

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Diggs56, Nov 18, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Diggs56

Diggs56

Nov 18, 2012
    I am an electrician, but have never really gotten into electronics. My son is starting to show an interest in all things electronic, so we want to build something together.
    What we were thinking of was a game, like whack-a-mole, where you would have six led's on a panel, and six push-buttons. An led would light at random, and you would have to push the button associated with that led within say 1/2 second. If you push the button within the time, you get a green led, and the game continues for a max of five goes (five green led's). If you get 5 greens, you win. However, if you don't push the button in time, you get a red led, and the game stops.
    I know this is probably basic stuff for most, but please have pity on a poor noob.

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    That's a job for a microcontroller, so less about electronics, and more about programming.

If you're still interested, there are a number of ways to approach this, and I'm sure we could assist in pointing you in a reasonable direction.

3. CocaCola

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
    I was going to say the same thing but was stepping out the door...

But, I also ran though my head how much of a brain exercise this would be on the 'cool' factor doing it with simple logic chips and timers... Anyway I'm far to lazy to even attempt the design the old fashion way, a few lines of code it my way :)

4. Diggs56

Diggs56

Nov 18, 2012
    Thanks (*Steve*),
    I have some experience of programming in C++, but none of circuit diagrams or parts lists, so any help would be much appreciated.

5. CocaCola

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
    Well the schematic/circuit as well as parts kinda go hand in hand with the software...