Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Electronic switch

Bikonja

May 4, 2012
Hi everyone,

I am a complete novice in electronics. However, I've decide I want to use my Arduino for a project. In this project, I would like to have, amongst other things (which I think I can do myself) a switch. What I don't really understand though is how I would do this.

To get into a little more detail so it's clearer what I want to achieve - I have a camera (a Canon EOS 600D/Rebel T3i) which has a standard 2,5mm stereo plug for remote shutter release. It's really simple to do your own remote, which I have done with an old mouse (pre-optical :cool:). Everything's great - connect ground to one of the stereo rings to get focus, other for shutter release, with the mouse button switches - easy peasy.
Now I want to expand this so my Ardunio can let this still be the case, but add another switch to the circuit, in parallel. This switch should do the exact same thing (only the shutter release, not the focus), but be controlled by the Arduino. So, I want my Arduino to short-circuit two wires when I tell it to (every x seconds, when a sensor detects something, etc...).
I can visualize the circuit for parallel buttons that can release the shutter when you press either of them, that's really basic, but since the other button is not really a button, but an Arduino controlled switch that short-circuits two wires, I'm not sure what I should put in there. From what I know and have researched, it should either be a switch-transistor or a relay. But, I really don't know what exactly as I have to have the Arduino send a signal which just short-circuits two wires and doesn't actually send current, is only controlled by it.
Can anyone help me out here?

I feel like this is pretty basic stuff, yet I don't know what to do :(

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Look into the workings of optocouplers (also known as photocouplers). The arduino can control the LED (input) the built-in transistor can operate as switch (output).