Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Electronic H Bridge Losses

Derek Dickson

Jul 8, 2014
Hi I am a newbie to this site.Looking forward to conversing.
I have a small robot which I am working on.

There is a small electronic H bridge PCB electronic circuit which drives
the movement of the robot back and forth.
The supply voltage to this H bridge PCB is 4.8 volts (3 new xAAA batteries).
The voltage at the motor is 4.3volts.
There is a loss of 0.5 volt across the H bridge PCB.
When I bypass the H bridge the robot is much more powerful and allot more fun.The voltage to power ratio on the gearmotor is certainly not linear.the 0.5 volts make a massive difference.

Is there away of building a near loss-less H bridge PCB so the full voltage is applied to the motor through an electronic H bridge ? Current draw to the planetary gearmotor is about max 0.4 amps ( locked rotor current).

Also is there a way with out an oscilloscope to check if there is any PWM on the H bridge that may be responible for the 0.5 v drop ?

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Hi Derek, welcome aboard.

A H-bridge will always incur some loss. By carefully selecting the transistors and the driver circuit you can minimize them, but not to 0. To be able to help, we would need a schematic of the circuit, incl. component values/types.

To check for PWM, set your voltmeter to AC. If there's PWM, it should register a voltage. If there's only DC, it should show 0V.

If the speed of the motor is variable (not just back - stop - forward), it is most probably controlled by PWM.

Harald

Derek Dickson

Jul 8, 2014
Thanks Harald, Awesome information, yes I am registering a PWM via you method of setting the multi meter to AC
So the next question is can I place some thing in line with the L and R control outputs from the controller chip to the electronic H bridge to negate the PWM control ?Sounds like a new thread.
Cheers Derek

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Derek, better stay within this thread, as the questions are related.