Connect with us

Electromagnets?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Moha99, May 17, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Moha99

Moha99

Nov 18, 2011
    Hallo everyone!

Im interested in building an electromagnet! Now I'm still learning about it a few things came to mind:

1) Electromagnet's fileds can be strengthened by increase the current or decreasing the radius, how can I decrease the radius?

2) Are electromagnets constantly changing their magnetic poles(N>S>N>S)?

Thanks!

2. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    1. Wind the coil on a 1 inch core instead of a 3 inch core. (BTW increasing the number of windings also increases the field)

2. Only if the applied power is AC. On DC the poles remain contant.

Bob

3. Moha99

Moha99

Nov 18, 2011

I want to build a simple electromagnet with 1 inch core and a lot of windings!

The thing is how can I measure the magnetic pull?

I'll use a double AA battery 1st then move on using other source(I'll build a simple bridge rectifier to solve the problem ;) )

4. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    I wrote a whole lot of stuff, but this explains it better.

Google is your friend.

5. Moha99

Moha99

Nov 18, 2011
    Alright, Thanks Steve!

6. timothy48342

timothy48342

Nov 28, 2011
    Also to decrease the radius, you can use thinner wire. You can fit more turns of wire in a smaller space if the wire itself takes up less space.

And also using wire that has thinner insulation. If you were planning to use speaker wire, household wiring, bell wire or anything with a thick insulating layer, then switching to magnet wire would be a huge improvement.

Now in both these cases your going to make a trade-off between size and how much current and voltage it can handle before it arcs or melts. (arcs meaning the insulation breaks down and melts means the wire itself melts.)