Connect with us

Electromagnet and Switch

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by jennyanne, Oct 17, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. jennyanne

jennyanne

Oct 17, 2013
    Hi

I'm trying to combine an electromagnet with the power and a switch. Apologies, I am a complete electronics rookie.

The electromagnet requires 24V (dc) and 0.33A which I am supplying through 16 AA batteries in series. I want to attach a switch that I have, but the switch specifies a maximum of 12V and 3A - would this work, or do I need to get a different switch?

Thanks!

Product links...

Electromagnet:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/55-6lbs-Holding-Electromagnet-Lift-Solenoid/dp/B008DB5FKS
    Switch:
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/ultra-miniature-toggle-switches-2340

2. duke37

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
    The batteries will be pushed to the limit and will not last long.

The switch should be able to handle the voltage but the electromagnet will be highly inductive and will draw an arc when the switch is opened. This will rapidly destroy the contacts. The solution is to go to a fatter switch or to put a reverse diode across the magnet. This will limit the turn off voltage to 24V

3. jennyanne

jennyanne

Oct 17, 2013
    Thank you very much, I thought as much, but the guy in Maplin said it would be fine. I found a switch on ebay that takes 125V and 5A, so I'm hoping that should be sufficient.

How long would the batteries last for - I'm using the electromagnet for experiments, so I imagine it will be on intermittently for periods of around 1-2 minutes, not on constantly.

Thanks again

4. duke37

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
    I am no expert in batteries, in fact I hate them.