Connect with us

Electric heating element

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by jan019, Mar 14, 2011.

1. jan019

jan019

Mar 14, 2011
    Hello,

I'm new to this forum and am an absolute noob in electrical stuff. As you see from the title of this thread i would like to make a heating element. Not anything complex, just any easy wire shaped into a coil and it should heat, BUT i have no idea how do it. I would like to use some sort of wire in diameter probably about 2 mm and i would like it to be able to give of about 500ºC or more. But first i would make a prototype with using a simple 9V battery. I just need to know how could it be made. If I can only plug one end of the wire to one pole of the battery and the other end to the opposite pole and it would heat or if i would have to put some resistors after the heating wire in the circuit so that the battery doesn't blow up. I know that some things I said might be hard to understand and maybe even unconstructable, but please help me. Also how much ºC do you think the 9V battery might give? I know it depends on the resistance of the wire so just give me any example of wire diameter and how much heat would a 9V battery produce. Thanks

2. Resqueline

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
    A 9V battery easily gives 3000 ºC or more, in a light bulb. So I just ask, what significance does the temperature have?
    An alkaline 9V battery contains up to 0,5Ah which translates to 4.5Wh or 16200 Joules. So, what do you really want to achieve with this energy?
    Such batteries don't like to be emptied very fast, so you won't be able to extract anywhere near 4.5W for a duration of anywhere near one hour.
    The resistance, strength, & melting points of different metals vary greatly, creating very different solutions. What resources do you have at your disposal?
    Anyway, for a 9V battery you'll be looking for as thin wire as you can get; 0.1mm, regardless of material.