Maker Pro
Maker Pro

EEG circuit - need help please!

eboaylag

Jan 7, 2016
I'm currently designing a project that involves the use of this Instructable's EEG circuit.
FR5NQTRH3QFL7UP.jpg

At the end of the Instructable (Step 12), the author talks about using an Arduino Uno to observe 6 inputs instead of the original circuit's 3 inputs. My plan is to have the Arduino observe 6 inputs, and to also feed that information into my laptop, which I'm designing an EEG reading program for.
I'm very new to electronics, so please excuse my lack of knowledge, but I have a few questions about project feasibility:

1. Would hooking up the Arduino to the circuit involve changing the circuit in any way? The Instructable says you wouldn't need any extra circuitry, so I wasn't sure.
2. Will I still need the two 9V batteries to power the circuit if I'm plugging the Arduino into my laptop?
3. Also mentioned in Step 12 is a multiplexer chip. If I used the multiplexer chip for my inputs instead of the Arduino, would the circuit have to change? And what would be the best way to input that data into my laptop?

Thanks in advance, I know it's a lot. I really appreciate any help I can get, though!

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
A word of caution: An EEG is a medical device and there are risks involved when applying it to a person.
Be aware of the risks and take all necessary precautions.
We reserve the right to remove this thread if we think it's going in the wrong direction.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
I'm currently designing a project that involves the use of this Instructable's EEG circuit.
FR5NQTRH3QFL7UP.jpg

At the end of the Instructable (Step 12), the author talks about using an Arduino Uno to observe 6 inputs instead of the original circuit's 3 inputs. My plan is to have the Arduino observe 6 inputs, and to also feed that information into my laptop, which I'm designing an EEG reading program for.