Maker Pro
Maker Pro

DVB to WiFi

Lawrenciumbc

Nov 2, 2015
I am an Electronics Engineering student and wondered as a project idea if I could broadcast my incoming digital TV signal (from my satellite dish or aerial) over my WiFi network.

I just wondered what sort of things/topics I needed to look into to get started with it, e.g. how to transcode the signals? what sort of hardware i'm likely to need (aside from a router)? could I use a microcontroller or an FPGA? and ultimately, is it relatively achievable or is there a fundamental reason why nobody appears to be doing it?

I am assuming that this would only be possible with free to air channels as subscription channels such as Sky are probably encrypted somehow and that I would probably need some kind of software interface for computers/devices to play the transcoded signal back.

I'm not sure yet how ambitious this is and so any guidance from anyone who has attempted this or similar would be much appreciated.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
I am an Electronics Engineering student and wondered as a project idea if I could broadcast my incoming digital TV signal (from my satellite dish or aerial) over my WiFi network.

I just wondered what sort of things/topics I needed to look into to get started with it, e.g. how to transcode the signals? what sort of hardware i'm likely to need (aside from a router)? could I use a microcontroller or an FPGA? and ultimately, is it relatively achievable or is there a fundamental reason why nobody appears to be doing it?

I am assuming that this would only be possible with free to air channels as subscription channels such as Sky are probably encrypted somehow and that I would probably need some kind of software interface for computers/devices to play the transcoded signal back.

I'm not sure yet how ambitious this is and so any guidance from anyone who has attempted this or similar would be much appreciated.
You will most likely need to work with an SDR and/or FPGA ...