Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Dpdt relay omron MY2N 240vac 24vdv

Keith Jackson

Dec 6, 2016
Hiya I am struggling with the above relay I don't know how to wire it I am just picking up electronics I have looked at the schematic drawings and because I am just learning I can't understand them . What I am trying to do is I have a extractor fan at home and I have been trying to fix a back draft type device to it ( a diy version ) . The idea is I connect this relay to the extractor fan so when I switch the extractor on power goes to the relay 240vac . I will have a permanent 24vdc supply to the relay that in turn will activate a actuator to raise a steel plate (diy back draft ) .when I switch the extractor off the reverse happens the steel plate will be lowered . Just like a sash window going up and down That is the plan the problem is I don't know how to wire the relay I know the coil is pins 13 and 14 so I will connect the positive and negative from the extractor fan motor to those pins . I am not sure please help me pins 9 and 12 are the pins for 24 vdc on to the relay .will someone please help and try to keep it as simple as possible as I am just learning thank`s again Keith.

bushtech

Sep 13, 2016
Maybe draw a little schematic so we can see what you are trying to do.

I am no expert but from what I've seen dealing with these relays the 24VDC across the coil is the signalling circuit. Apply 24Vdc to it and the switch closes allowing the 240VAC to flow. The coil pins are normally 2 on their own on the one end of the relay

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
the 24VDC across the coil is the signalling circuit.
Not for this relay. Coil voltage is 240 V AV
Contact ratings are
AC: 220 V / 10 A
DC: 24 V / 10 A
Coil voltage (controlling the relay's operation) is between pins 13 and 14 (note that there is no plus or minus as this is AC voltage).
The contacts are arranged as:
contact 1: pin 9 = common, pin 1 = normally closed, pin 5 = normally open