Maker Pro
Maker Pro

does this seem right?

gingerneering 101

Sep 21, 2014
I am New to circuit building and this circuit doesn't make sense to me. I want another opinion because the 12v supply is a car battery powering a wiper motor. I've already tested stall amperage at 13amp. What I don't understand is the pull up resistors on the 339 output. I am using one 339 and two hbriges so these are the parts I ordered. 4 irf 9540 p channel 23 amp MOSFET, 4 irf640 n Channel MOSFET 18 amp, 1 lm339 comparator, 1 10k ohm .5 watt pot, 1 14 pin ic socket, 1 100ct 3k ohm .5 watt resistors.
servo_outputs_utilized_for_motor.jpg

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
The pullup resistors are needed because the LM339 has open-collector outputs that pull low but don't pull high.

I wouldn't use that design - not at 12V, anyway. As the LM339 outputs are transitioning from 0V to 12V or from 12V to 0V, there will be a point where both MOSFETs are ON simultaneously. For example when the LM339 output is at 6V, each MOSFET will see 6V of gate-source voltage, and will conduct. This will at least cause a burst of "shoot-through" or cross-conduction current, and that current may be high enough to blow the crap out of the MOSFETs; an automotive supply can provide hundreds of amps!

You would be better to use an H-bridge MOSFET driver IC. These usually drive all N-channel MOSFETs, which have better performance than P-channel MOSFETs. Unfortunately, all the ones I can find at the moment use a bootstrapping method to generate the positive voltage for the high-side MOSFET and this only works if the MOSFETs are being switched continuously, not for steady-state drive.